Success and Failure

Image“Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams.  Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential.  Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what it is still possible for you to do.” ~Pope Jon XXIII

Success and failure, what is this to you?  I think of many things when any of these two words are mentioned.  In some form of another they are a part of our lives EVERYDAY.  They have also been a part of our lives since we were born.  One of our earliest examples of success and failure comes at a time you do not remember.  Most of you have been around children, and have see it first hand.

Watch a child who is learning to walk.  How many times will they get up, take a step, and then fall right over?  Hundreds?  Thousand of time?  I don’t know that answer, but it is a pretty big number!  Even when the child falls and bumps themselves, how long does it take for them to get back up and try again?  Not very long at all.

We as babies do not understand failure.  Babies will just try and try until they get it right.  They have not had others get in the way and say “you cant do that, or just give up you will never get it.”

As adults though, something has happened that has programmed us to be failures.  I am not saying we are failures in life, but we do give up.  How many things in your life have you done that you have loved, but were not very good at?  Did you give up? Did you keep trying?

A lot of us give up. I have given up.  I have failed.  It does happen.  How do you think about yourself afterwards?  Bad, shameful, like a loser?  I have felt all these. 

One thing I learned about myself last weekend in PSI Basic, was that I do give up.  The obstacles that try and stop me from succeeding in what I want are huge, and when time gets tough, I just throw in the towel.

Since this is a blog about my live after the seminar, I will discuss with you my failures this week, and will share the ways that I am over comming them so that I can move forward and be a better person.

My fist goal that I set last sunday was to have this blog up and running last monday.  I thought to myself that it should be easy.  I google’d and found many sight that claim its just fill out your info form and start blogging.  I found the sight I thought I wanted to use to host my blog, bought the domain name through them, and sat down to start saying what was on my mind.

Three hours later I realized I made the wrong decision in hosting sights.  The site ended up being very slow, and difficult to use.  I was so determined to have www.lifeafterpsi.com up and running, that I decided to cancel my account and switch to one that I had breifly used in the past.  This is were the problems began.

I signed up here at www.wordpress.com and clicked the link saying that I already owned a domain, and I wanted to transfer it over here.  Wow, was that difficult.  There was no easy way to do it.  I spent the next three full days going back and forth with both hosts, so I could figure out how to do it.  Neither of them had a number to call for customer service or tech support.  Neither of them had live chat for support, and I am not too computer litterate.

I wanted to give up.  I had thought many times that I should just take the money I had spent already on lifeafterpsi.com and throw it away.  I was getting ready to registar a new domain name through wordpress.

I didn’t want a new name though.  I spent money on the name the I wanted.  I didn’t want another one.  I decided to meditate and go to my “workshop”.  During the session I discussed the problems I was having wih my “advisors”.  Now I didn’t get the anwer, they did not help me figure out how to fix my problem.  What they did was be my cheerleaders, my support.  They helped me to not give up!

This session lasted about 19 minutes.  What happened afterward?  I checked my email, and I had gotten the start of some decent intructions on how to change something called “domain mapping”.  It still took me Wednesday night, and almost all of Thursday, but guess what?  You are reading my blog on the domain I WANTED!

I perciveried, I learned, and I succeded!  I had my goal, and I didn’t let obstacles get in my way.  I got what I wanted!  It may have taken a little more time than I had wanted, and I am ok with that.  I am GREAT with the fact that I didn’t give up.  I didn’t let anything get in the way of me!

I hope that you can find a little insperation in this post.  I hope that you can overcome the obstactles that WILL get in the way of the thing that you want, your goal.

Have a Wonderful Day, and THANKS for reading!

Jason Buckley

About Jason Buckley

Just a regular guy trying to do HUGE things in life!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Success and Failure

  1. Karyn says:

    Very inspirational cousin!! I love the passion you feel!!

  2. Brandi Bischof says:

    Awesome jas!!!! U motivated me…cause blogging can be a vent mechanism and lord knows I need one :-/

    • hydro5757 says:

      Please do check out the seminar…I can help out by getting you 100$ off! I will let you know when the next graduation is and I will take you! At that point you get a discount. It is well worth it!
      Did either of you sign your email up so you can get notified when I post? You will only get 1-2 emails a week. I won’t bombard everyone!
      Much Happiness,
      JB

Leave a Reply

