Next Exit…The Future

future

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”                    ~Eleanor Roosevelt

 

Today I embark on an adventure.  An adventure into the future of myself.  The future that will help shape me into more of a person that I want to be.  A future that will provide me with time to do the things I want to do, travel, spend more time with my friends and family, and have me be more fiscally able to do these things.

At this turning point in my life I will try to explain to you how I have come to this very difficult decision. 

Over the past 2 weeks, I have been on a couple job interviews, one of which turned me down, the other of which I turned down.  In the basic PSI seminar I took a couple weeks ago we learned a lot about goals, and how they effect our lives.  One of our assignments was to think about an “ass puckering” goal.

What kind of goal is that.  Well most people have goals for themselves, everyday goals, like losing 10 pounds, or getting a new job.  Yes those are excellent goals, but I would say they are your common everyday goals.

An “ass puckering” goal is a big one.  One that scares you.  On that has many obstacles.  One that is so big that when things start going wrong, it will be the easiest to drop.  A goal so scary that just thinking about it makes your ass pucker up tight!

The goal in the seminar was to have a business plan finished by the end of February 2013.  When I spoke about my goal in front of the class, the instructor made a comment about me being very confident about it.  He then asked me, “does it make your ass pucker when you think about it?”  My reply to him and the class was “NO”.

You see, I had already started working on my business plan.  I never had a goal “complete by” date.  So the date was the only new piece that I had added.

Today I made my ass pucker up so tight.

I turned down a job.  I did this for multiple reasons, but the biggest one of them all.  I have decided that I need to work full time on getting my business up and running.  I am still a ways out from actually opening the doors, but I have made a date!

I believe that finishing the business plan, finding financing (I believe that hardest part), build out, to doors open will be by January 15th, 2014.

This absolutely scares me.  Yes January of 2014 seems a ways off, but that is a date that I chose as an absolute farthest date.  Hey, I am working full time on it now!  Maybe it will be sooner.  Who knows what adversities this year will throw my way.  Just know, I WILL over come anything that gets in my way!

So, what does the future hold for me? 

My own business.

Most of all though, my future is bright, and will help provide me MY OWN HAPPINESS!

 

Thank You all for listening today! 

Sending Warm Thoughts To You!

Jason

About Jason Buckley

Just a regular guy trying to do HUGE things in life!
This entry was posted in Future, Goals, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next Exit…The Future

  1. Swati Shah says:

    Super proud of you and looking forward to Jan. 15 2014!!

  2. Chat Lines says:

    Merely wanna say that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

Leave a Reply

