Roadblocks in Life

Image

 

 

“No amount of roadblocks are strong enough to stop you from achieving your goals.” ~Unknown

Our lives are full of roadblocks.  The things that try to stop you from achieving your goals.  They try to prevent you from doing the things in your life that you choose to do.

A roadblock can show its face in many form.  For me, some of my most common road blocks come in a form that are dangerous for me.  I use TV, video games, procrastination, and just plain laziness as my excuses for not getting my goals accomplished.  

I think that most roadblocks are actually things that you can easily change.  I know that it is very hard to do though.  If you are like me, I have been a procrastinate for as long as I remember.  I will always put things off until the very last-minute.  I was always thinking that waiting until the last-minute makes me more productive.  Does it really though?

Over the past few weeks, I have been very proud of myself, as I was being very productive. I was working everyday on multiple projects including my business plan, and this blog.

This week, I hit a road block.  My plan was for a post on Monday.  Start of a new week I thought, what better way to start than a blog post.  It would be a great start to my goal of writing two post per week.  What I really did though…

I woke up very late, not feeling to hot either.  I use the excuse of not feeling well, to put everything off.  I sat on the couch under a warm blanket and watched TV all day.  Then to top it off, I went to bed supper early.  I figured I would just do everything on Tuesday.

Well, what happened on Tuesday?  I was very ill.  I actually had a good reason to stay in bed all day.  I was in pain, and just very sick.  

I understand that things happen, and sometimes you just have to take a sick day.  I needed it Wednesday, but know I was regretting the fact that I had put things off on Monday.  Especially when it comes to Wednesday!

Wednesday I put everything off again.  This time was for the reason of recovery, and my roommate stayed home from work, so I decided just to hang out.

I am the master of putting things off!  I can use any excuse to stop me from achieving what I need to achieve.  This is a very bad thing in my life, that is proving to be very difficult to over come.  Worst part is, that most of my roadblocks are all in my head.

I had strong things getting in my way this week.  I have to work on myself, and figure out a way to help me overcome these very difficult roadblocks.  It certainly is very tough, and I know that these pesky roadblocks will continue to show up in my life.

I am trying.  I will always have to face these.  All I can do is work had, and hope that I can over  come!

Have a Great day!

JB

About Jason Buckley

Just a regular guy trying to do HUGE things in life!
This entry was posted in Goals, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roadblocks in Life

  1. Auntie Judy says:

    I can certainly relate to what you are saying but something I’ve learned in Mary Kay is the importance of self-talk. What you think about you bring about. Acknowledging the obstacles you face is one thing. But saying, “I always” or “I never” or “i am the master of putting things off” are statements that your mind will work on. Our minds are like a computer…they don’t know fact from fiction. They simply respond to what they are told & act upon that. So take those statements you are making & turn them into a positive affirmation. Rather than “I am the master of putting things off” say something like “I always accomplish tasks put before me in a quick & efficient manner.” Or something similar in your own words. Speaking in the first person & as if it’s something you already do (rather than “want to do”) has a huge impact. Try this on any area you want victory over.

    I’m proud of you & what you are accomplishing in your life and the direction you are going. Keep it up. You can do it!!! Love ya…Auntie Judy

  2. Thanks Auntie Judy! I am working on over coming the roadblock that I have created over the years! I know that I will get to where I want to be, and beyond!

Leave a Reply

